April’s Fond Memories

April 1, 2024

It’s April. April brings back fond memories of the Writers Institute. For eighteen years I attended the best writing conference in the Midwest meeting agents, publishers, editors, publicists, authors, writers, and the news media. At the time it was the highlight of my year for me. Going downtown for three days was a big deal. Most of the time I lived with Mom and wrote. I would spend an entire year getting ready to go back to the conference. I loved pitching to agents. It was eight minutes of fame. Meeting and pitching to Stephen King’s agent is something I won’t ever forget. Of course, she rejected me. The memory lives on. Not many people have met Stephen King’s agent. People are always impressed with that. Every year I learned my craft from authors. Slowly building a career and landing Tina. Who would have thought I would have an agent, but I did it. After Mom died, the conference was home. Writers fed and took me to the bathroom sometimes. It was a new life but the conference made it easier. Now the conference is gone, but the memories still linger. April will always mean the writing conference to me. I live independently now writing multiple manuscripts for my agent. I feel like Stephen King writing in my apartment at night. It is an author’s life. Mom would be proud. Dreams do come true. 

Leave a comment