Happy Birthday, Mom

March 11, 2024

The 12th is Mom’s birthday. It is hard to believe she has been gone for nine years. Sometimes it seems like yesterday. The bus drove by our old condominium tonight. I can remember Mom saying, “You can’t be independent.” Because I hid my poop problem from people and my mostsy. It is stupid now. Nine years later I’m living independently in my own apartment. I often wonder what Mom would say. She would be thrilled to see me on my own. I would love to show her the apartment. “Mom, this is my home.” Her face would light up. She would cry and hug me. And I did it all myself. I’m living the life I wanted. There are always care problems but that’s life. I have created a new life while building a career. Yes, Mom would be proud of me. It is not easy and never will be. I have made it despite my family. New York may not happen, but my words will live on for years to come. That’s my legacy. Thanks, Mom. I love you. Rest in peace. Amen. 

Leave a comment