I Feel Harassed

January 28, 2024

The State wants more documentation for my employment to be eligible to receive services to live. My care agency has given me a fake job to fulfill this stupid requirement. I live independently. If I work, I lose my apartment. I’m an author with a literary agent and six published books. I had a play produced on New Year’s Eve and wrote a monologue. I’m publishing two books. I don’t want and need a job. I’m unable to physically care for myself. The MAPP program is a great program for most people with disabilities. I’m all for it. Ninety percent of the disabled are employed in Dane County. That’s remarkable and should be applauded. Working for $900 a year isn’t me. I’m a professional author. I turned down a job for $100,000 a year last year. I can’t find a writing job for $900 a year. I have tried to, but they don’t exist. I’m paying an editor $500 to edit a manuscript. That’s a month of work for me. Every year I have to go through this discrimination and humiliation. It is degrading and exhausting. I know you don’t care. Rules are rules. I’m publishing this year, and when I do interviews with the news media I will be sure to mention this disgraceful practice of the State. You can cut my services. I will show up at your office, reeking of shit and urine. This is how I will show you and the State. Then I will go to the media. I’ve had it with your rules. Let me live my life. 

Leave a comment