Isolation

December 21, 2020

Life is funny these days.  There was a house meeting on Thursday that didn’t happen. These meetings are stupid — telling the staff what they should be doing. They should know what to do but don’t.

My cousin emailed me, saying, “I’m bringing you Christmas presents in the morning.” I told him, “To not come.” It hurt.  My autism roommate gets to go to home every weekend and goes inside buildings.  He touches things when he is out.  That’s what autistic people do.  I’m physically unable to touch things.  He could bring the virus here and I could die.  Rules need to apply to all consumers.  His parents spoil him and believe he needs to be entertained all day.  He has to encourage and see others.  His life goes on as usual.  Sometimes you have to say no.  I know that he doesn’t understand but he needs to make sacrifices.   I won’t see my sister until next Thanksgiving.  That’s two years!  Other consumers are in the same boat.   Emails, Facebook, Christmas cards, presents, Zoom meetings, and a Christmas Google party is how I stay connected with people.  Loneliness kills.  I’m loved by many.  I will get my life back soon and I won’t be here much.

One Response to “Isolation”

Leave a comment