Attendants

October 25, 2016

My care attendants all want better pay and health benefits.  My mission in life is to fight for and improve the quality of care for my attendants.  They make life hard for me.  Laundry isn’t done.  They talk on their cell phones making me wait for care.  Most of the time they talk loudly in African about nothing.  “Steve, when are you going to bed?” “I’m turning down the TV “or “I’m changing the channel.”  “Don’t talk to me like that, Steve, ” or “We only give showers at eight in the morning!””You shouldn’t go out at night.”   I have responsibilities, a career and finally a social life.  People expect a lot out of me like my agent who emails after midnight sometimes.  I care about my attendants, but they need to take care of me and let me be.

 

Leave a Reply

