Life’s Regrets

September 14, 2015

It’s my nonverbal friend’s birthday this week.  He invited me to his fortieth birthday but I didn’t go since it was the opening weekend of the NFL season.  I wasn’t a good friend.  It was my belief that I was better than him.  He attended Madison College when I did and he still was a student when I returned to work part-time as a writing assistant.  I ignored him at first, but in the latter years we would talk when we saw each other.  He always had a smile on his face.  Six weeks later after his fortieth birthday he committed suicide.  I have always regretted for not being there for him.  He was a genius.  I’m sorry, Mark.

Leave a Reply

