The American Dream

August 10, 2015

The American dream is dead the sixteen Republican candidates claim.  Americans always want more than they have now.  What is the American dream exactly?  The American dream is about working hard day after day with sweat, tears, sacrifice and belief.  It isn’t given.  You have to push people sometimes to make your dream happen, and at other times you have to be patient.  I learned a lesson this week.  After being patient with my agent for six months to edit my manuscript, I received an email from her saying that she was still editing it.  I pushed her to finish it!  The next day it was edited by my agent.  I expressed my emotions to my people calling myself a failure which I’m not.  They reminded me of that!  The book goes to eight publishers in New York this week.  That’s an author’s life.  I move on Wednesday.  My roommates and staff don’t know what they are getting into living with an author but neither do I.  This is the American dream living on my own and pursuing my career.  Nothing is given in life … that is what we tend to forget.

Leave a Reply

