Wow. What a weekend.

March 31, 2015

The conference is the highlight of my year.  I have attended the writing conference for about eight years now.  Not only do I escape the house for three straight days which is a big deal for me, but I have met several people.  Last summer I critiqued and edited an eight hundred paged manuscript about a CP nonverbal girl who dies of pneumonia at the age of twelve for a Chicago writer.  I was paid five hundred dollars for it.  We have become friends.  I have met another writer from the conference who is one of my agent’s clients.  Another CP author that I met in April has a CP son who I knew from Madison College when I worked there.  And of course my agent  The reality is the conference is the only place where I can go and be just an author without having people thinking that I’m “lost.” The conference gives something to look forward to and work towards.  It gives me jobs.  No one will hire or pay me, but some writers will.  I wish that I could more critiquing jobs!

Also, I rewrote my mg manuscript for my agent last summer as while as critiquing a manuscript for a writer.  I was working every day all day writing. She is about ready to market it.  I’m nervous and antsy.  The mg manuscript is about a CP boy who is mainstreamed for the first time in junior high school and uses Morse code to write.  I have an agreement to write a second book for my agent.  Think about that!  This has all come from the conference not the system which doesn’t know what to do with me!  Attending the conference provides opportunities for me.  I wouldn’t have an agent or have my books in four local bookstores without the conference.  I keep learning developing my writing each April.  In my heart I know that I will get there thanks to Christine DeSmet and Laurie Scheer.  Plus, I’m thinking about self publishing an adult manuscript about what happens to a CP author after his mother dies on Amazon, but I’m waiting to see what happens  Agents like the adult manuscript but.  .  .  I’m working!  The conference is a “working vacation” for me.  It’s a place that I call home.  Without the conference I don’t know where I would be.  Now if I could meet a brunette writer in her early forties at the conference to live with.  That would be perfect.

I was honored this weekend at it conference.  Four hundred writers watched the video of me writing for four minutes.  I almost cried thinking about the English family, but I held it together.  Writers gave me a standing ovation and talked to me all weekend.  I heard that writers wanted to talk to me.  Life is hard for me now.  My mother is becoming old and forgetful, but she wants to be in control.  But she can’t.  I’m working on moving out but she doesn’t want me to go.  Meanwhile I have only one care attendant.  This weekend my agent agreed to represent all my books!  I was overwhelmed by everything.  I don’t have much to say and wanted savior the moment.  I need moments especially now to keep moving forward.  Now I could find a couple writers willing to take care of me.  I will get there.

Leave a Reply

