Good system, bad system

July 21, 2014

The Community Integration Program\Community Options Program (cipcop) helps the disabled with assisted devices like purchasing computers and helps get the disabled out in the community.  The program bought my computer and the Morse code input device.  It pays my care attendants to take me out places.  I receive fourteen hours of cipcop a week to go places, which I rarely do.  Most disabled people go out a lot, but I don’t.  I’m writing!  But I did hire my care attendant’s boyfriend to watch sports with me.  Most of my cipcop hours go unused.  That’s thousands of dollars designed to improve my quality of life.  I want to use some of the money for promote my books and self publish a book.  But the system won’t help me with financial assistance to enhance my writing career.  Most disabled people don’t have careers.  Self publishing a book would cost about a thousand dollars on Amazon.  I would set my retail price and start earning some income to to go places, thus improving my quality of life!  But the system doesn’t know what to do with educated talented physically disabled people.  It’s sad.

Leave a Reply

