Venting, venting …..

June 24, 2014

Two more local bookstores want to carry my books and promote the books.  Maybe have a book signing at both stores!  That’s something that I have always wanted to do.  In fact one bookstore manager from Spring Green is coming to my house to pick up the books.  But I needed to order more books.  An article is coming in the Wisconsin State Journal along with book reviews.  Perfect timing.  My publisher emails me each day book discounts which change every day.  My publisher sent an email to buy books for five cents a book.  Good deal.  Mom doesn’t want to buy books.  She gives me an excuse saying her credit card is low.  I never ask for anything, but when I try to do book promotions I have to argue with her.  She has no idea how much work I do on publicly.  I have give my books to people to get articles and book reviews.  It’s so frustrating!  She bought the books after I complained.  That’s my life.  When I go out anywhere, Mom gets so hyper that I don’t want to go out.  Yesterday I went to the Historical Museum with my attendant for a few hours to escape my writing projects.  The bus arrived a half hour early and my attendant wasn’t here yet.  Mom panicked!  I wasn’t worried, but she went out to talk to the bus driver making sure that the bus stayed.  My attendant arrived on time.  Then Mom wanted to show my attendant who has worked for me for over a year how to disengage my electric wheelchair.  Going out has begun to make me nauseous, but I need to get out to clear my head.  I don’t want to become a recluse scared to leave the house.  Mom doesn’t understand what she’s doing when she does this.  It’s funny.  My attendants and friends laugh about it.  It’s very sad.  Mom raised me to be independent, but the older that I become the less she wants me to be independent.  Strolling down State Street is a rare opportunity for me that I cherish.  I know it’s time for me to move out.  The question is can I do it? 

Leave a Reply

