September 11

September 11, 2012

It’s a eleventh anniversary of September eleventh.  I know where I was when I realized that America was under attack.  Mom and I were living in Poynette at the time.  We were going to Middleton meet my Aunt Mary at the orchid garden.  I wanted to go to the University Bookstore to promote my first book.  Mom said no to going to the bookstore because we were under attack.  I didn’t understand how serious it was until I heard a man being interviewed by a reporter on the radio.  The man said, “I was lucky to escape.  But I saw a couple of disabled people in electric wheelchairs waiting by the elevators for help.  I don’t think they made it out.” It hit home.  That could have been me. 

Leave a Reply

