I will spend th…

August 13, 2012

I will spend this week e-mailing agents that I met at the writer’s conference in April.  The agents haven’t replied to my pitch sessions from the writer’s conference.  I will have to email the agents asking them to respond.  I let a couple of weeks pass before I email the agents again.  Then usually the agents will answer with an email that reads:

Dear Steven,

            I sure do remember you from the writer’s conference.  You’re an amazing writer.  I am sorry that I didn’t get back to you sooner.  I did read your manuscript.  I enjoyed it.  But unfortunately the manuscript doesn’t fit the market and isn’t for me.  Please understand.  I wish you nothing but the best.  Sincerely,

 

Why did I have to email the agents  several times and wait so long to receive a rejection?  It takes me an hour to write a short email to agents.  It takes them a couple of minutes to email a rejection.  I wish that people would be honest with me.  Rejection is a part of a writer’s life.  No writer likes rejection.  But that is what I am, a writer.

 

Leave a Reply

